Galba Needs Some Love [Notable Post]

I don’t know how many people know about Galba and I am going to assume a few do, but he was awesome. Yes, he was gullible as Otho lured him to his death and Galba was greedy too. But I think that he needs some more love and attention because:

1. He drew up his own army to oppose Nero, an emperor who could not stand to lose a music contest and would have Vietellius persuade the judges.

2. Galba slept with men and was what Suetonius called a ‘homosexual-invert’- therefore stating that Roman terms of sexuality was different from our own. (I could go on a long rant about how different their views of sexuality were.)

3. He was the first emperor (of his time) to not inherit the throne by adoption or sheer luck. (Yep. I am looking at you, Claudius!)

Leave a comment